The primary goal of the Religion program is to enable students to grow in the knowledge and love of God. Our Religion program consists of three components: Religion, Family Life, and Circle of Grace.

    The Religion component calls for lifelong faith formation while fostering Catholic beliefs, traditions and values. As faithful Catholics we face many challenges in the world we live in; therefore at St. Luke’s School we focus on the following: Daily prayer, acknowledging our dependence on God, living a moral life of integrity, loving and supporting our Church, respecting the dignity of life at all ages and stages, valuing the Eucharist, and considering a call to religious life, the priesthood and all other church ministries.

    The Family Life component is a ten week program that is taught in addition to the daily core Religion program. It focuses on the theological concepts and principles of Catholic moral teaching and is based on the eight characteristics of moral catechesis.

    Circle of Grace is taught in the fall of each school year to students in preschool-grade 8. The goal of Circle of Grace is to educate and empower students to actively participate in a safe environment for themselves and others. 


    • 100 minutes per week of instructional time in preschool
    • 150 minutes per week of instructional class time in kindergarten through grade 8
    • Daily morning prayer with the Pledge of Allegiance, grace before and after meals, afternoon prayer before leaving for the day.



    The family is the first place where faith is learned, lived, and interpreted. The National Catechetical Directory tells us that “parents catechize informally but powerfully by example and instruction” (NCD, #229). The parish and school communities assist parents in their role as catechists through liturgy and daily instruction. Together, we form a partnership and share in the responsibility of forming children in the four pillars of the Catholic faith: creed, sacraments, Christian life, and prayer. 



    The Religion Achievement Standards are the same for each grade level. They provide the instructional framework for the content of our faith. They are clear, precise statements of what the learner is to do to demonstrate competency at the end of a learning period around the four pillars of the Catechism of the Catholic Church, namely, Creed, Sacrament, Christian Living and Prayer.

    CREED (What We Believe):

    1.     Present an understanding of the human need for God based on revelation and faith.

    2.      Read, understand, interpret, and apply Scripture to life.

    3.      Illustrate basic understanding of doctrine and dogma in light of the creed.

    4.      Recognize the Trinity as God.

    5.      Illustrate a basic understanding of the Church.

    6.      Demonstrate an appreciation of prayer as the primary way we come to know God and the community as the context for sharing faith within and beyond.

    7.      Exercise responsible stewardship for the gift of creation.


    SACRAMENTS (How We Celebrate):

    8.       Demonstrate the importance of sacraments, with an emphasis on the centrality of the Eucharist, in the life of Catholics.

    CHRISTIAN LIVING (How we Live):

    9.      Examine a variety of Christian vocations as a response to the baptismal call.

    10. Acknowledge and affirm the dignity of the human person and community.

    11. Apply Catholic principles to interpersonal relations.

    12. Know, critique, and apply social justice principles to personal and societal situations.

    13. Engage in service to the community in response to the Gospel call.

    14. Develop a moral conscience informed by Church teachings.

    PRAYER (How We Pray):

    15.  Know and participate in the Catholic tradition of prayer.